Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Doris Lessing

Prince of Asturias Award for Literature 2001

The Jury for the Prince of Asturias Award for Letters 2001, convened in Oviedo, comprising Andrés Amorós, Luis María Anson, Blanca Berasátegui, Pedro Casals, Juan Cruz, Jorge Fernández Bustillo, Francisco Javier Fernández Vallina, Fernando García de Cortázar Ruiz de Aguirre, José Luis García Martín, Pilar García Mouton, Fernando González Delgado, Fernando de Lanzas Sánchez del Corral, Rosa Navarro Durán, Fernando Rodríguez Lafuente, Fernando Sánchez Dragó, Darío Villanueva, chaired by Víctor García de la Concha and with José María Martínez Cachero as secretary, has decided by majority vote to grant the Prince of Asturias Award for Letters 2001 to the British writer Doris Lessing. The creator of an imaginary, everyday world, and her characters, the offspring of contemporary society, are a faithful reflection of twentieth century morals. The female protagonists of her novels are particularly relevant in this respect. The Jury thus recognises not only one of the unquestionably major figures of world literature, whose work is the fruit of a lifetime's dedication to the narrative, but also a passionate fighter for freedom who has spared no effort in her commitment to Third World causes, both in her literature and in the personal experience that her eventful life has provided her.

Oviedo, 7th June 2001

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades