Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Martin Scorsese

Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts 2018

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2018 Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts, composed of Bárbara Allende Gil de Biedma, Juan Manuel Bonet Planes, María de Corral López-Dóriga, Carlos Fitz-James Stuart y Martínez de Irujo, Duke of Alba, Sergio Gutiérrez Sánchez, Joan Matabosch Grifoll, Alfredo Pérez de Armiñán y de la Serna, Sandra Rotondo Urcola, Emilio Sagi Álvarez-Rayón, Aitana Sánchez-Gijón de Angelis, Patricia Urquiola Hidalgo, Aarón Zapico Braña and Miguel Zugaza Miranda, chaired by José Lladó Fernández-Urrutia and with José Antonio Caicoya Cores acting as secretary, has agreed to grant the 2018 Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts to Martin Scorsese.

Above all, the Jury recognizes the importance of Martin Scorsese’s creative work. He is, in fact, one of the most outstanding film directors of the movement to renew filmmaking that emerged in the 1970s. He has directed more than twenty films that now form part of the history of cinema and continues to work unceasingly, masterfully combining innovation and classicism in his films.

He has also undertaken intense and wide-ranging work in recovering, restoring and disseminating historical film heritage throughout the world, via projects such as The Film Foundation and the World Cinema Project.

All this makes him an indisputable figure in contemporary filmmaking.

Oviedo, 25th May 2014

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades