Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Salman Khan and the Khan Academy

Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation 2019

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2019 Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation, composed of Maite Arango García-Urtiaga, Mitchell Codding, Beatriz Domínguez-Gil González, Paula Farias Huanqui, Gloria Fernández-Lomana García, Enrique Fernández-Miranda y Lozana, Duke of Fernández-Miranda, Benita Ferrero-Waldner, Luis García Montero, Emilio Lamo de Espinosa Michels de Champourcin, Daniel López Acuña, Jerónimo López Martínez, Juan Carlos del Olmo Castillejos, Rafael Sánchez Ortega, Luis Sánchez-Merlo Ruiz, chaired by Gustavo Suárez Pertierra and with Rosa María Calaf Solé acting as secretary, has decided to bestow the 2019 Princess of Asturias for International Cooperation Award on American mathematician and engineer Salman Khan and the platform created by him, Khan Academy, for consolidating an original, transformative format that offers free educational material, over the Internet, for all ages, anywhere in the world.

With an innovative view of teaching, Salman Khan has devised a complementary educational project based on his motto: “You only have to know one thing: you can learn anything.”

With more than sixty million registered users in 190 countries, the Khan Academy provides practice exercises, instructional videos and a personalized learning panel in more than thirty languages, which allow students to learn at their own pace both inside and outside the classroom.

Oviedo, 8th May 2019

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades