Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Siri Hustvedt

Princess of Asturias Award for Literature 2019

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2019 Princess of Asturias Award for Literature, composed of Xosé Ballesteros, Xuan Bello, Blanca Berasátegui, Jordi Gracia, Lola Larumbe Doral, Antonio Lucas, Carmen Millán, Rosa Navarro Durán, Leonardo Padura, Pablo Remón, Laura Revuelta, Ana Santos, Iker Seisdedos, Diana Sorensen, Juan Villoro, chaired by Santiago Muñoz Machado and with Fernando Rodríguez Lafuente acting as secretary, has decided to confer the 2019 Princess of Asturias Award for Literature on American writer Siri Hustvedt. Her work is one of the most ambitious on today’s literary scene. Employing a feminist perspective, she addresses a variety of the facets that sketch a convulsive, disconcerting present. Furthermore, she does so using fiction and the essay, as an intellectual concerned with the fundamental issues of contemporary ethics. Translated into more than thirty languages, her work contributes to interdisciplinary dialogue between the humanities and the sciences.

Oviedo, 22nd May 2019

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades