Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Anne Carson

Princess of Asturias Award for Literature 2020

In the course of its online meeting, the Jury for the 2020 Princess of Asturias Award for Literature, made up of Xuan Bello Fernández, Anna Caballé Masforroll, Gonzalo Celorio Blasco, José Luis García Delgado, Jordi Gracia García, Lola Larumbe Doral, Antonio Lucas Herrero, Carmen Millán Grajales, Rosa Navarro Durán, Laura Revuelta Sanjurjo, Carmen Riera Guilera, Iker Seisdedos García, Jaime Siles Ruiz, Diana Sorensen and Sergio Vila-Sanjuán Robertchaired by Santiago Muñoz Machado and with Fernando Rodríguez Lafuente acting as secretary, has decided to confer the 2020 Princess of Asturias Award for Literature on Canadian writer Anne Carson.

In the different areas of her writing, Anne Carson has attained levels of intensity and intellectual standing that place her among the most outstanding of present-day writers. From the study of the Greco-Latin world, she has built a body of innovative poetics in which the vitality of great classical thought acts as a map to invite the reader to elucidate the complexities of the current moment in time. Her oeuvre maintains a commitment to emotion and thought, with the study of tradition and the renewed presence of the Humanities as a way to achieve an enhanced awareness of our time.

Oviedo, 18th June 2020

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades