Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Marina Abramović

Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts 2021

In the course of its online meeting, the Jury for the 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts, made up of José María Cano de Andrés, María de Corral López-Dóriga, Dionisio González Romero, Blanca Gutiérrez Ortiz, Sergio Gutiérrez Sánchez, Lucas Macías Navarro, Ricardo Martí Fluxá, Fernando Masaveu Herrero, Hans Meinke Paege, Helena Pimenta Hernández, José María Pou Serra, Sandra Rotondo Urcola, Benedetta Tagliabue, Patricia Urquiola Hidalgo, Tadanori Yamaguchi, Aarón Zapico Braña, chaired by Miguel Zugaza Miranda and with Catalina Luca de Tena y García-Conde, Marchioness of Valle de Tena, acting as secretary, has decided to grant the 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts to the Serbian artist Marina Abramović.

Abramović’s oeuvre forms part of the lineage of performance art, having a previously unknown sensory and spiritual component. Imbued with a desire for permanent change, her work has brought a profoundly human essence to experimentation and the search for original languages. Abramović’s courage in her dedication to absolute art and her adherence to the avant-garde provide moving experiences that demand intense involvement on the part of the spectator and make her one of the most thrilling artists of our time.

12th May 2021

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades