Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2009 Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation


26 nominations from 12 different countries are in the running for this award, the second of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their twenty-ninth year.

The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2009 Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation, the second of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, will be held on May 26th and 27th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the twenty-ninth time in their history.

The Prince of Asturias Awards aim, to quote from the Statutes of the Foundation "to reward the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanistic work performed by individuals, groups of individuals or institutions at international level." As part of this spirit, the Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation "will be bestowed upon the person, institution, group of people, or group of institutions whose work has contributed to mutual understanding, progress and brotherhood among nations in an exemplary and significant way ".

There are 26 nominations in the running for this Award from Australia, Austria, Germany, India, Italy, Luxemburg, Mexico, Portugal, Republic of Ecuador, Sweden, United States and Spain.

The Award is endowed with fifty thousand Euro, a sculpture created and specially donated for the Awards by Joan Miró, a diploma and an insignia.

Members of the juries will hold an initial meeting with the media at about 10.30 a.m. on Tuesday 26th in the "Salón Covadonga" of the hotel (on the ground floor), immediately prior to being formally convened and starting their deliberations. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The Jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12.00 a.m. on Wednesday 27th in the Salón Covadonga of the hotel, and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury´s decision will be broadcast live for more than 120 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via the Hispasat and Intelsat satellites. In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es


  • Plataforma:            Europa I (CANAL FEEDS 1 TSA)
  • Satélite:                 Hispasat 1C
  • Posición Orbital:     30º Oeste
  • Transpondedor:       46
  • Frecuencia Rx:                 11.931 MHz
  • Banda:                     Ku
  • Polarización:        Horizontal
  • Symbol Rate:         27,5 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.:                     3/4
  • Codificación:        MPEG 2 DVB


  • Satélite:                 INTELSAT  3R  
  • Transpondedor:       15K 7C   SLOT 4
  • Frecuencia Rx:        3908.5 MHz
  • Banda:                     C
  • Polarización:         Vertical
  • Symbol Rate:         4.500 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.:                       3/4

Tel. Hispasat:      + 34 91 512 94 98

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades