Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


Ralf Dahrendorf, 2007 Prince of Asturias Award Laureate for Social Sciences, has died


Prized for his excellent teaching career and his concern for a Europe where rights and liberties are defended.

The minutes of the Jury that bestowed said Award, dated 11th July 2007, stated: "Professor Dahrendorf has had an excellent career teaching at prestigious universities, especially in Germany and the United Kingdom, where he has been a director of the London School of Economics and Political Science and a warden of St. Anthony's College at Oxford. Concurrently, he has carried out extensive research work, publishing books and articles of renown on contemporary society, and in particular, on Europe and the welfare state. He has taken part in public life as a member of the German Parliament and as a Commissioner of the European Union.

In addition to his great contributions to the Social Sciences, the Jury wishes to honour his concern for a Europe based on open and cosmopolitan societies, where rights and liberties take root and are defended within a new international order, which will ensure that vital opportunities are spread universally, within a democracy where justice and the law are firmly established".

The Jury was chaired by Manuel Fraga Iribarne and was also made up of Lluis Xabel Álvarez, Gonzalo Anes, Rogelio Blanco, Raúl Bocanegra, María Emilia Casas Baamonde, Adela Cortina, Ángel Gabilondo, José Luis García Delgado, Manuel Jesús González, Luis González Seara, Carmen Iglesias, Juan Antonio Martínez Camino, Adolfo Menéndez, Aurelio Menéndez Menéndez, Manuel Menéndez, Ana Rosa Migoya, José Manuel Otero Novas, Mariano Puig Planas, Rafael Puyol, and Juan Vázquez (as acting secretary).

The Award Ceremony took place on 26th October and was chaired by T.R.H. the Prince and Princess of Asturias. The Award was received on Ralf Dahrendorf's behalf by his wife, Lady Christiane Dahrendorf, who read some words of thanks on the Laureate's behalf. Speeches were likewise made by the Israeli writer Amos Oz, the Chairman of the Board of the Alliance for Climate Protection, Al Gore, Avner Shalev, Chairman of Yad Vashem, the Jerusalem Holocaust Museum, the Chairman of the Foundation, José Ramón Álvarez Rendueles, and Don Felipe de Borbón.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades