Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2009 Prince of Asturias Award for Concord


44 nominations from 26 different countries are in the running for this award, the last of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their twenty-ninth year.

The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2009 Prince of Asturias Award for Concord, the last of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, will be held on September 9th and 10th. The awards are bestowed this year for the twenty-ninth time in their history.

The Prince of Asturias Awards aim, to quote from the Statutes of the Foundation “to reward the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanistic work performed by individuals, groups of individuals or institutions at an international level.” As part of this spirit, the Prince of Asturias Award for Concord ‘will be bestowed upon the person, institution, group of people or group of institutions whose work has made an exemplary and outstanding contribution to mutual understanding and peaceful coexistence amongst men, to the struggle against injustice, poverty, disease or ignorance, to the defence of freedom, or whose work has widened the horizons of knowledge or has been outstanding in protecting and preserving Mankind’s heritage’.

There are 44 nominations in the running for this Award from Argentina, Bosnia, Brazil, Canada, Cuba, Croatia, China, Ecuador, United Arab Emirates, Ethiopia, France, Germany, India, Iran, Israel, Italy, Liberia, Nigeria, Palestine, Peru, Tibet, Turkey, United States, Venezuela, Zimbabwe and Spain.

The Award is endowed with fifty thousand Euros, a sculpture created and specially donated for the Awards by Joan Miró, a diploma and an insignia.

The Jury, which will convene at the Hotel la Reconquista, is made up of members of the Boards of Trustees of the Foundation.

Deliberations will start at 6 p.m. on Wednesday 9th in Salon Covadonga (Chapel) of la Reconquista Hotel, immediately after the official photograph has been taken. Their decision will be made public at 12.00 a.m. on Thursday 10th in the Salon Covadonga of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

This is the last of the eight Prince of Asturias Awards to be bestowed in their twenty-ninth edition. The 2009 Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts went to Norman Foster, the Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation was given to the World Health Organization, the Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences was given to British naturalist David Attenborough. The Award for Communication and Humanities went to the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), the Prince of Asturias Award for Scientific and Technical Research Award was jointly granted to American engineers Martin Cooper and Raymond S. Tomlinson. The Award for Literature went to Ismaíl Kadaré and the Prince of Asturias Award for Sports was given to Yelena Isinbayeva.

The reading of the jury´s decision will be broadcast live for more than 120 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via the Eurobird and Intelsat satellites. In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website.


Platform: Eurobird 9 (CANAL FEEDS TSA)

Satellite: Eurobird 9
Orbital Position: 9º East
Transponder: 67
Rx Frequency: 12.054 MHz
Band: Ku
Polarization: Horizontal
Symbol Rate: 27,5 MSymbols
F.E.C.: 3/4
Coding: MPEG 2 DVB


Satellite: Intelsat  IS-905

Orbital Position: 24,5º West    
Transponder: 62K/12C 
Slot: 3  (6 MHz)
Rx Frequency: 3.808 MHz
Band: C
Polarization: Right
Symbol Rate: 4,500    MSymbols
FEC: ¾
Coding: 525 NTSC

Tel. Eurobird/Intelsat:      + 34 91 512 94 98

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades