Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


All of this year’s Prince of Asturias Awards Laureates have confirmed their presence at the twenty-ninth award presentation ceremony


The solemn act will be held on 23rd October at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo.

All this year’s Prince of Asturias Awards laureates have confirmed their presence at the award presentation ceremony, which is now in its twenty-ninth year. The solemn act will be held at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo and will be presided by H.R.H. the Prince of Asturias.

This year, the Prince of Asturias Awards have been bestowed on: Norman Foster (Arts); World Health Organization (International Cooperation); David Attenborough (Social Sciences); National Autonomous University of Mexico (Communication and Humanities); the fathers of the mobile telephone and email, Martin Cooper and Raymond S. Tomlinson (Scientific and Technical Research); Ismaíl Kadaré, (Letters); Yelena Isinbayeva (Sport) and the city of Berlin, on the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Wall (Concord).

The award-winning institutions will be represented by:

The World Health Organization (WHO), will be represented by several members in their organization chart: Director-General, Margaret Chan.

-  Doctor Mirta Roses (Argentina), Regional Director of the Pan American Health Organization, with its headquarters in Washington.

-  Aeema Al-Gasser (Bahrein), representing the WHO in Iraq at the Eastern Mediterranean Regional Office, in Egypt.

-  María P. Neira (Spain), Director of the Department of Public Health and Development, with its headquarters in Switzerland.

-  Ndres Nzang (Equatorial Guinea), Coordinator of the Global Management System in the African Region, from Brazzaville (Congo).  

-   Mrs. Payden (Kingdom of Bhutan), regional adviser for the Water Sanitation and Health at the South-East Asia Regional Office (India).

-  Pedro Traver (Spain), in charge, from Copenhagen, of the telecommunication systems of the Regional Office in Europe, with its headquarters in Denmark.                                                                                                               

The National Autonomous University of Mexico will be represented by its Vice-Chancellor, José Narro.

Representing the city of Berlin will be the three Mayors that have kept Berlin unified:

-  Klaus Wowereit, Governing Mayor of Berlin since 2001.

-  Walter Momper, Mayor of the city when the Wall fell in 1989 and until 1991. He is the current President of the Berlin Parliament.

-  Eberhard Diepgen, Mayor of the city between 1991 and 2001. Diepgen was also Mayor of Western Berlin between 1984 and 1989.

News coverage

Last year, more than one thousand journalists from national and international media registered to provide coverage of the Award presentation ceremony and the events which are held during that week.

The Prince of Asturias Awards presentation ceremony will be broadcast live on  TVE 1, the International Channel and 24 Hour Channel of TVE, CNN+, Asturias’ local TV channel (TPA) and almost the entire ceremony will be on Euronews, which has more than 292 million subscribers in 144 countries worldwide. Also, the European Association of Public Service Broadcasters, Eurovision, will provide coverage of the award presentation ceremony to its associate members. Eurovision is made up of those European public broadcasters which are part of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU). It now includes 75 members from 56 countries in Europe and abroad, as well as 43 associate members worldwide.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades