Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

La Fundación


Six of the eight international awards bestowed by the Prince of Asturias Foundation have been announced, marking the 30th year of the Awards

Sculpture of Joan Miró ©FPA

The Prince of Asturias Awards for Sport and Concord will be bestowed in September.

The 2010 Prince of Asturias Awards Juries met in Oviedo during May and June, except for the Sports and Concord Juries, which are to meet in September.

Extracts from the minutes of the Jury

The Jury for the Arts inaugurated the thirtieth year of the Prince of Asturias Awards, bestowing the accolade on the American sculptor Richard Serra  “for his audacity in structuring –from his minimalist perspective– the most significant spaces at an international scale through works of great visual power that are an invitation to reflection and wonder”.

The Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences was conferred on the archaeological team of the Terracotta Warriors and Horses of Qinshihuang in Xi’an. As the Minutes state: “The Jury has wished to pay tribute to a team of archaeologists and other scientists who have unearthed this great tomb complex and, in particular, the work that has revealed to the world the cultural importance of China and of its civilization that spans thousands of years, its social organisation and its artistic splendour”.

The Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities was bestowed on the sociologists Alain Touraine (France) and Zygmunt Bauman (Poland, of British nationality). “These two representatives of the most brilliant intellectual tradition of European thought have created, independently from one another, singularly valuable conceptual instruments for understanding the changing, speeded-up world in which we live”.

The Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research went to the American biochemists David Julius and Linda Watkins and the Israeli Baruch Minke. “These three outstanding researchers in the field of Sensory Neurobiology have made findings that jointly enable a deeper understanding of the cellular and molecular bases of different sensations, especially that of pain”.

The Prince of Asturias Award for Literature was bestowed on the Franco-Lebanese writer Amin Maalouf, “who, through historical fiction and theoretical reflection, has managed to lucidly address the complexity of the human condition. Using intense, suggestive language, Maalouf places us in the grand Mediterranean mosaic of languages, cultures and religions to construct a symbolic space for meeting and understanding”.

Finally, the Prince of Asturias Award for Internacional Cooperation went to the Transplantation Society and the Spanish National Transplant Organization. The Jury has taken into account “the cooperation between these organisations and their contribution for scientific and clinical practice to facilitate organ transplants throughout the world, as well as the coordination of the donation, extraction, preservation, distribution and exchange of organs, tissues and cells in the Spanish health care system and internationally”.

Each of the Prince of Asturias Awards, which date back to 1981, is endowed with 50,000 Euros, a commissioned sculpture donated by Joan Miró, a diploma and an insignia. The awards will be presented next autumn in Oviedo at a grand ceremony chaired by H.R.H. the Prince of Asturias.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades