Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Emmanuel Carrère

Princess of Asturias Award for Literature 2021

In the course of its online meeting, the Jury for the 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for Literature, made up of Xuan Bello Fernández, Blanca Berasátegui Garaizábal, Anna Caballé Masforroll, Gonzalo Celorio Blasco, José Luis García Delgado, Jordi Gracia García, Lola Larumbe Doral, Antonio Lucas Herrero, Carmen Millán Grajales, Rosa Navarro Durán, Leonardo Padura Fuentes, Laura Revuelta Sanjurjo, Carmen Riera Guilera, Iker Seisdedos García, Jaime Siles Ruiz, Diana Sorensen and Sergio Vila-Sanjuán Robert, chaired by Santiago Muñoz Machado and with Fernando Rodríguez Lafuente acting as secretary, has decided to confer the 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for Literature on the French writer Emmanuel Carrère.

Emmanuel Carrère has constructed a highly personal oeuvre that generates a new space for expression which erases the boundaries between reality and fiction. His books contribute to the unmasking of the human condition while relentlessly dissecting reality. Carrère draws an incisive portrait of contemporary society and has exerted a notable influence on the literature of our time, in addition to showing a strong commitment to writing as a vocation inseparable from life itself.

9th June 2021

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades