Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

2020 Princess of Asturias Award for Technical & Scientific Research

List of Laureates

Yves Meyer, Ingrid Daubechies, Terence Tao and Emmanuel Candès 2020 Princess of Asturias Award for Technical & Scientific Research

Yves Meyer (French), Ingrid Daubechies (Belgian and American), Terence Tao (Australian and American), and Emmanuel Candès (French) have made immeasurable, ground-breaking contributions to modern theories and techniques of mathematical data and signal processing. These constitute the foundations and backbone of the digital age (by enabling the compression of graphic files with little loss of resolution), of medical imaging and diagnosis (by enabling accurate images to be reconstructed from a small number of data) and of engineering and scientific research (by eliminating interference and background noise). As regards this last point, these techniques serve as the key, for example, to the deconvolution of Hubble Space Telescope images and have been crucial in the detection by LIGO of gravitational waves resulting from the collision of two black holes. The outstanding contributions of these world leaders in mathematics to modern mathematical data and signal processing are essentially based on two different yet complementary tools: wavelets and compressed sensing or matrix completion.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades